handmade · jewelry · shophandmade.com · women's fashion

Happy Mother’s Day!

I woke up this morning, groggy, looking for my coffee. As I started the coffee pot, my middle child came up to me, as she was the first one up, and said, “Mamma can you make breakfast”? Breathing a sigh, since I was not quite awake yet, I put a smile on my face, turned to her beautiful face and said, “of course”.  As I put the cinnamon rolls in the oven and finished my coffee, my dear husband came downstairs and said “good morning baby, what you cooking?” Around the corner here come the other two children, wide eye and awake, exclaiming “Ohhh!!! Mamma’s making cinnamon rolls!!! I smell them!!!” I giggled to myself. Ahhhhh, the joys of being Mamma! About twenty minutes later the doorbell rings! Mind you, we are finishing up breakfast, and we are all still in PJ’s. I turn to my family, “are you guys expecting someone”, I ask. “No”, they say. So I go to the door, a little confused, wondering who would possibly be at our home. As I open the door a see a man holding a stunning mixed bouquet of flowers! “Happy Mother’s Day” he says as he hands the vase to me! I turn to my family, surprised, and start giving out hugs to my excited children and amazing husband!  These are the moments that we remember as Mother’s. Smiling faces, giggles, dirty hands, and even the tears. They are some of the best moments of our lives.

Later on during the day I decided to make myself something for mother’s day. I went down to my creative space and made a pendant 20170513_191355that I have been wanting for a long time now! This is my representation of our family tree. The tree is made of thin copper wire wrapped around a silver hoop. The small beads represent each family member’s birthday. You see, when I was younger, my mother had a beautiful ring that had each family member’s birthstone set in gold. My father gave her this ring for mother’s day one year and she cherishes it. She calls it her Mother’s ring. I wanted something similar. Now I cannot take full credit for the design since there are versions of these everywhere, but this is my interpretation of this meaningful piece.

I want to say thank you to all the mother’s out there. Thank you for all that you do for your families.  Thank you for the sleepless nights, long days, and the amazing children that you are raising in our ever changing world. Even though you may not always feel appreciated or even like you are doing a good job, remember that being a mother is a very important job and that you are making a huge difference  in your families lives and in this world! 

In Celebration of Mother’s day at http://3Littlebirds.shophandmade.com   from now until midnight on 5/14/2017 every purchase will receive one free, custom mother’s pendant, chain not included. Using the contact button in the shop, simply contact me with the birthday months you would like to incorporate into your pendant and of course the name that your order is under.  Happy Mother’s Day Everyone!!! And thank you for all that you do!

Leave a Reply

